Maria Holland

Dr. Maria Holland, Assistant Professor, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering, University of Notre Dame.
https://commandlab.nd.edu/
(Photo by Matt Cashore/University of Notre Dame)

Could you share insights into your current research focus?

In my research group, we do computational biomechanics focused on growing soft tissues.  What that means is that we use the tools of computational mechanics (like finite element analysis and continuum mechanics) to simulate and analyze soft tissues as they grow.  We’ve mostly focused on the developing brain, trying to understand the biological and physical phenomena that lead to the characteristic wrinkles that our brains have, but more recently are also starting to study the role of mechanics in inflammatory swelling – how cells and tissues respond to the stresses generated during swelling.

What obstacles did you face as a new principal investigator and how did you tackle them?

Absolute, utter naivete.  (Perhaps this is unavoidable, but I also didn’t do a postdoc, which probably didn’t help.)  Thankfully I found NPIS, which has been the perfect place to ask questions I’m too scared to ask anyone else, or when I want an impartial outside perspective, or to eavesdrop as other people are figuring this PI thing out.

How do you balance the demands of teaching, research, and administration in your role as a principal investigator?

When I started this job, I pretty quickly realized that I would be doing certain things over and over and over until I retired.  Writing papers, writing grants, teaching courses, writing rec letters, hiring grad students, etc.  So I decided early on to invest time when doing things for the first time specifically with an eye towards being able to do it better, faster, or easier the next time.  That has helped me a lot as the demands on my time have ramped up – because I’m able to deal with many things more efficiently!  Specifically thinking about balancing, I also track my working time and at the transition between semesters, I look at how I spent my time and think about if that allocation reflects what I want it to.  

As a NewPI, what’s your superpower?

Maybe systems?  I have spent time setting up systems that work well and help me keep on top of things.  Email reminders, filters that move a ton of non-urgent emails to a folder I review once a week, a to-do list that syncs with my calendar, good file organization, etc.

What mantra keeps you motivated during the ups and downs of academic life?

I’m on the train until the track runs out.

What is the one piece of advice you would give to your past self, on the day 1 of this job?

You don’t have to be perfect on day one.  You just need to start somewhere (start submitting grants, start a new project, teach a new class) and then get better every time you do it again.  

Bonus Question

What’s the coolest factoid about brain development that I never knew I needed to hear/know?

A lot of people think that the skull constraints the brain – but actually, even though the brain is so soft, it’s actually the growth of the brain that drives the growth of the skull.

Leave a comment